musicandvideo it p489245-diana-krall-the-look-of-love-sacd-ibrido-stero-surround-sound-verve-sigillato 003
Home > MUSICA (LP vinile - CD - SACD - XRCD - NASTRI) > CD - SACD - XRCD - DVD AUDIO > SACD > Etichette T-Z > Verve
Costi di spedizione
Il costo per singola spedizione sul territorio Italiano, Sicilia e Sardegna incluse, è di € 9,90 IVA INCLUSA.
La soglia di valore d'ordine oltre la quale il trasporto è GRATUITO è di € 139,00

Nel caso di acquisto di merce particolarmente pesante e/o voluminosa, quali diffusori acustici, elettroniche di alto valore e peso, vengono chiaramente indicati, prodotto per prodotto, gli eventuali costi di trasporto accessori.

I servizi accessori a pagamento disponibili sono:
  • pagamento in contrassegno: 2,5% sul valore merce con un minimale di € 3,90

Diana Krall - The Look Of Love -- SACD Ibrido Stero + Surround Sound - Verve - SIGILLATO

Diana Krall - The Look Of Love -- SACD Ibrido Stero + Surround Sound - Verve - SIGILLATO

Cod. prodotto:
Prezzo: € 17,90
Disponibilità del prodotto
Inserisci la quantità
Importo finale
€ 17,90


Verve 3145895972

Diana Krall
The Look Of Love


Supporto: SACD Ibrido stereo e multicanale - Suona anche su un normale lettore CD

With her new album The Look of Love, Diana Krall confirms her exceptional status as a jazz singer. Her new CD is a touch too polished, too clean, but never kitsch, as one might have feared, since the album was recorded together with the London Symphony Orchestra. But the special, sometimes rough-edged character of her previous recordings is missing. Still, these ballads may well encounter as huge a success as her previous CD When I Look In Your Eyes since it also appeals to an audience which normally only listens to pop music. Her new ballads and Bossa Novas are elegant and sensual. Besides the title song The Look of Love, especially her subtle piano playing towards the end of Besame Mucho is enchanting. However, the album's highlight comes with the first song, 'S Wonderful, which also sums up my general impression: "It's wonderful, it's marvelous."

The Look of Love is the fifth album by Diana Krall in a row that Tommy LiPuma produced. LiPuma is also known for his work with Barbra Streisand, Miles Davis, João Gilberto, Natalie Cole and Shirley Horn. Regarding Claus Ogerman, Diana Krall said that, together with Johnny Mandel, he has been her favorite arranger/composer since she was seventeen. Ogerman had an important role on albums recorded by Frank Sinatra, Barbra Streisand and Antonio Carlos Jobim. Ogerman also had been working for years together with LiPuma, for the first time on George Benson's outstanding album Breezin'. Since Claus Ogerman featuring Michael Brecker in 1990, the two had gone separate ways. But when Diana Krall was on tour in Munich, LiPuma arranged for her to have lunch with Ogerman. That is how the pianist/singer, the arranger/composer and the producer began to work on a common project: The Look of Love.

On her new album, Diana Krall's voice sounds fuller, richer and softer than before. Her songs were arranged by Claus Ogerman who also conducts the London Symphony Orchestra. The Look of Love gives an impression of unity despite the fact that it contains material from a lot of different sources: e.g. Cry Me A River by Julie London, Love Letters by Nat King Cole and jazz-standards such as Dancing in the Dark by Arthur Schwartz (music)/Howard Dietz (text), I Remember You by Victor Scherzinger/John Mercer and 'S Wonderful by George and Ira Gershwin.

Musicians; Diana Krall, piano & vocals; Russell Malone, guitar, Christian McBride, acoustic bass; Peter Erskine, drums; Jeff Hamilton, Paulinho Da Costa, percussion; Luis Conte, percussion; Romero Lubambo, guitar; John Pisano, Dori Caymmi, acoustic guitar; London Symphony Orchestra, Los Angeles Session Orchestra, Claus Ogerman arranger & conductor.

1. S'Wonderful
2. Love Letters
3. I Remember You
4. Cry Me A River
5. Besame Mucho
6. The Night We Called It A Day
7. Dancing In The Dark
8. I Get Along Without You Very Well
9. The Look Of Love
10. Maybe You'll Be There